Home > Uncategorized > The Justice System and Government Shutdown

The Justice System and Government Shutdown

I was in Federal District Court last week. The talk of government shutdown permeated the courthouse- from the Court officers screening me through the security, to the judge on the bench.

Later that week I called into the U.S. Attorney’s Office in GR- no answer. I get Into the voicemail of a U.S. Attorney for the Civil Division and I hear a detailed message how he is out of work due to the government shutdown (now how do I get a federal lien released from some real estate!?)

I noticed a link for the shutdown contingency plan- see attached link. http://www.justice.gov/jmd/publications/doj-contingency-plan.pdf

After reviewing the plan, I am glad that the DOJ is still running to protect “human life and property.”

I guess my release of lien will need to wait.

  1. October 11, 2013 at 11:05 am

    Yes, Jeshua, you will have to wait.

    Indeed, the shutdown has created serious challenges for hundreds of thousands of federal employees and millions of others that pale in comparison to your situation. During these times, the Department of Justice and other federal entities must deliver services according to priorities. I’m sure that property liens do not fall into the protection of life or property category and are far down the list of priorities.

    Be patient and rest assured that the system still works very well, despite its flaws, and that you are fortunate to be a part of it.

    • October 11, 2013 at 11:06 am

      Thank you, Tom for your comment.

      • October 11, 2013 at 11:33 am

        Hang in there, Jeshua. Better days are ahead.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

