Home > Uncategorized > Lesson from Court: The Sobering Reality of Injustice.

Lesson from Court: The Sobering Reality of Injustice.

I was in Circuit Court this morning in Ottawa County, Michigan. I was there to make legal arguments in a real estate lawsuit.

 

During the hearing, I found myself engrossed in making notes, mentally responding to the legal arguments that were being made by opposing counsel, and at the end of his oral argument the Judge asked us to recess for a few minutes to take a “plea on the record” related to a criminal case.

 

Coming up to the podium standing next to where I was seated in the courtroom was a man who was entering a plea to a crime that he was charged with.

(For those of you who aren’t familiar with Michigan Courts, Circuit Courts are the courts where all felony – serious crimes –  are tried. So, initially, I know the guy must have been charged with something pretty serious)
The prosecutor read the charge that the man was pleading to – Felony Assault/Child Endangerment.

 

How awful.

 

The man then explains the facts of what he did – it involved shaking his 3 month old child on several occasions.

 

Heart-breaking.

 

The man will spend significant time in prison for this offense.

 

After the plea was entered, the Judge looked at me and asked me if I was ready to proceed with my oral argument about my real estate lawsuit.

 

The Judge gave me this look, that I read as: “I don’t know how anybody could be ready after listening to such an awful story, but please go ahead counsel!”

 

In all honesty, I was overwhelmed with concern for that 3 month old boy and his family. My prayers go out to them in this Christmas season.

 

Regardless, I proceeded with my oral argument and advocated for justice for my client in his real estate matter.

 

However, it only took me a moment to listen to the plea that was being entered from the man standing right next to me in the courtroom to alter my perspective.

 

It reminded me that there is great injustice going on in this world.

 

There are families and individuals that are truly hurting this holiday season.

 

There people who have lost loved ones, who are victims of injustice.

 

It reminds me that often I need to look outside of what is affecting my normal work day, and look around at this hurting world that needs help.

It is then that I thank God for all the great ministries in West Michigan and across the world that support people in need, like Mel Trotter Ministries, Kalamazoo Gospel Mission, Volunteers in Service, Westwood Christian Services, Goodwill Industries of Greater Grand Rapids, World Vision, Compassion International, and many, many more.

 

I hope you will join me in this Christmas season and send out gifts and prayers for all those victims of injustice in our world.

God bless you all.

 

 

Questions? Comments?

email me: Jeshua@dwlawpc.com

http://www.dwlawpc.com

 

 

 

 

 

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Kristy Dunnigan
    December 23, 2013 at 2:56 pm

    Thank you for this sobering reminder! And, Merry Christmas & Happy New Year.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

