Home > business, nonprofit > A Call to Serve, a Call to Lead

A Call to Serve, a Call to Lead

I was reviewing the headlines of the latest edition of the Non Profit Quarterly when I came across this headline: NPQ’s Comment Roundup: On Younger Leaders, from the Perspective of Older Leaders .

You can check out the article here

This article addresses an issue that I’ve observed over the last 7 years…

I’ve seen this to some degree on every board that I’ve served on –

a lack of younger leadership on boards.

I think the first non-profit board I served on 6 years ago, I was probably the youngest board member by maybe….20-30 years.

Reasons for the lack of age diversity on boards?

There are many common reasons for this age gap, some more valid than others.

Certainly, particularly with non-profit organizations that are well-established in a community, a very valid reason for this age gap is the value of older board members who possess institutional board knowledge and experience that dates back generations.

This value cannot be overstated.

A Call to “Just Show Up”

However, what I don’t think should  be a valid reason for a lack of presence of younger board members, is a reluctance to just show up.

Let an organization that you are passionate about know who you are, and that you are ready to serve.

One of the reasons I went to law school was to gain a skill set that might translate into an ability to help those in need…to do  some good in this world, particularly in areas where God has laid on my heart – for me, Gospel Rescue Mission work fits that to a T.

What is it for you?

Where are you called to Serve?

Don’t be detracted by fears that are common to us all – such as a lack of experience (gray hair).

Whatever the reasons that many non-profit boards lack diversity in age – don’t let the reason be that you aren’t willing to show up and make your desire to serve known.

Questions? Comments?

email: Jeshua@dwlawpc.com

www.dwlawpc.com

  1. Norton, Dan
    May 15, 2015 at 4:03 pm

    Jeshua- I would love the chance to get on a board. If you have any in mind please let me know.

    Best regards, Dan Norton

    Sent from my iPhone

    • May 15, 2015 at 4:04 pm

      I think leadership goodwill would be a great opportunity

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

