Home > community development, nonprofit, Real Estate, social entrepreneurs, startups > Community Development: The Tension Between Real Estate Entrepreneurship and Keeping Families In Affordable Housing.

Community Development: The Tension Between Real Estate Entrepreneurship and Keeping Families In Affordable Housing.

This morning I read a MIBiz article by Nick Manes titled:

Hungry investors seek Grand Rapids housing deals, rankling longtime residents

The article does a good job of addressing the “tension” that I wrote about in a previous post. New investment in downtown Grand Rapids is exciting. But, as Nick Manes puts it, the flip-side of this new development is the “concern that new investment would lead to displacement of long-time residents.

Nick, in his article, illustrates this tension as articulated through the  interviews of the many interested parties: developers, investors, homeowners, renters, and community stakeholders.

As I’ve mentioned in my prior article, as a business/real estate lawyer and Chairman of the Board at Mel Trotter Ministries – I see this tension. I often find myself advocating on both sides of this tension.

Because of these different “hats” I wear, I have had to ask myself – what do I do with this tension?

I am committed to embracing this tension.

I am committed to ask the question: “Am I working to build a better community?

Just like I ended my previous article on this subject, so I will end this one:

 We should encourage entrepreneurs to revitalize blighted property – we should do everything we can to place families in affordable housing.

Let’s embrace the tension.

E-mail: Jeshua@dwlawpc.com

www.dwlawpc.com

Twitter: @JeshuaTLauka

Leave a Reply

