Home > Uncategorized > Encountering the homeless in Downtown Grand Rapids and Mel Trotter’s Season of Hope.

Encountering the homeless in Downtown Grand Rapids and Mel Trotter’s Season of Hope.

mtm_2016_soh_web_banner3

Occasionally when I am walking in downtown Grand Rapids I will run into a guy with dirty clothes, smelling bad, looking homeless. When this guy asks me for money, my gut reaction is to want to help. Honestly though, oftentimes I have no idea what is the right response. I will invariably pray for them, but I’m faced with the hard decision:

  • do I give them money?

 

  • do I buy them food?

 

  • do I simply direct them to Mel Trotter?

 

“Giving to those in need what they could be gaining from their own initiative may well be the kindest way to destroy people.”

This is a quote from Bob Lupton, from his book Toxic Charity.
Join me in hearing what Bob Lupton has to say on these issues and more.
On Wednesday October 12, 2016 Mel Trotter Ministries will host its 2nd Annual Season of Hope Event at the Frederik Meijer Gardens with Bob Lupton as our guest speaker.
We are still looking for corporate sponsors. Tickets are available here

 

Thank you to our Honorary Leadership Committee!

Committee Chair: Greg & Meg Willit
Rick & Peg Breon
Gordon & Karla Oosting
Rick & Melissa DeVos
Janis Petrini
James & Nancy Engen
Jerry & Marcia Tubergen
Kenneth Graham & Linda Vos-Graham
Carol & David Van Andel
Tom & Marcia Haas
Harold & Lori Voorhees, Jr.
Cate & Sid Jansma, Jr.
Larry & Lisa Walt

E-mail: Jeshua@dwlawpc.com
http://www.dwlawpc.com
Twitter: @JeshuaTLauka

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

