A Call to Authenticity and Servant Leadership.

Good afternoon, all.

I am looking forward to a relaxing Labor Day Weekend, I hope you are too. Before I am headed out of the office to venture past the Mackinaw Bridge, I wanted to sent a quick post.

I took this photo today – Rosa Parks Circle in downtown Grand Rapids has music and food trucks. Thursdays in Rosa Parks Circle is a great time.

IMG_0132

A few weeks back I was notified that I had been named as a “40 under 40” Business leader for 2018 by the Grand Rapids Business Journal.

As part of the “40 under 40” event, yesterday I had 40 seconds to tell “my story“. This story will be aired at the event on October 17, in front of over 700 people. (Updated): You can check out my 40 second story here

At first glance, that seems a tall task. How can anyone tell their story in 40 seconds?

We all have a story to tell.

Moreover, we all get to choose what parts of our story we reveal to other people.

I recognize it is a tremendous temptation to only reveal to others what looks favorable about ourselves – to shine the light on our achievements, awards, skills, and the things that we can so easily take pride in.

You know what I am talking about.

The things that fall into the  “look at me, I am important.”  category.

What I hoped to convey in my 40 seconds was something that I believe God has been impressing on me as of late –  authenticity.

Being real.

That is not a comfortable thing to do, particularly if you are like me and don’t have it all together. (none of us do).

In theory, I didn’t think it would be a big deal to share my story. But yesterday, when I sat on a stool under glaring lights with several cameras on me (thanks Justin Razmus and Team at 616 Media) I became anxious. The fears began to creep in.

Interestingly, when I did my first take, someone in the room could identify with aspects of my story.

It is OK not to have it all together.

I’ve heard it said by Craig Groeschel

Be yourself.

“People would rather follow a leader who is always REAL than one who is always RIGHT.”

As for me, I’m striving to be a leader who is real.

In order that God might be made powerful in my weakness. – 2 Corinthians 12:9

Questions? Comments?

Jeshua@dwlawpc.com

http://www.dwlawpc.com

Connect with me on Twitter: @JeshuaTLauka

Published by jeshuatlauka

Attorney at David, Wierenga & Lauka, P.C., business law firm in downtown Grand Rapids, Michigan. I serve as a legal advisor/ fractional GC to purpose-driven businesses. I am married with 4 kids. Above all I am a follower of Jesus Christ.

Leave a comment