My Thoughts on Social Enterprise: Am I Living Each Day with Conviction and Purpose?

Last week I mowed the lawn for the first time this year.

I didn’t have any gas to fill up the mower, so I just relied on the unknown amount of gas that had been in the mower over the winter.

As I was mowing the back yard, the largest portion of my lawn, I kept wondering – is this gas going to last the entire lawn? I really had no idea.

5.24

I like mowing the lawn because it gets me thinking outside of myself.

My thoughts shifted to a friend who had unexpectedly passed away in February. My friend was the same age as me, 37, he was in excellent health, married with young children. He died suddenly of a heart attack while vacationing with his family.

 

 

 

 

I am sure my friend had no idea that morning he woke up on vacation, that it would be his last on earth.

 

Mowing the lawn without knowing how much gas was in the tank reminded me of how none of us are promised tomorrow.

I had no idea when my mower was out of gas.

None of us knows when we will breathe our last breath.

It gave me pause to ask myself:

am I living each day with conviction and purpose?

am I living each day for what really matters?

 

I think we all could benefit from this “eternal” or “purposeful” mindset.

 

This “purposeful mindset”  is one reason why I love social entrepreneurs:

Those in business who are purposeful in using their business as a force for good.

 

And it is why I am excited about the proposed Benefit Corporation laws that have once again been introduced in the State Legislature.

 

My call to you:
Be purposeful.

Be eternally minded.

 

Questions? Comments?

Jeshua@dwlawpc.com

http://www.dwlawpc.com

Connect with me on Twitter: @JeshuaTLauka

 

Published by jeshuatlauka

Attorney at David, Wierenga & Lauka, P.C., business law firm in downtown Grand Rapids, Michigan. I serve as a legal advisor/ fractional GC to purpose-driven businesses. I am married with 4 kids. Above all I am a follower of Jesus Christ.

Leave a comment